James W. Hicks, M.D.

Same-Sex Marriage

In Announcements on July 16, 2010 at 9:23 am

Argentina has just joined Portugal, Spain, South Africa, Iceland, the Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Belgium, and Canada in allowing men and women to marry the male or female partner of their choice.

Mexico City, the District of Columbia, and 5 of the United States also permit same-sex marriage.

A federal judge in the US has just ruled that the Defense of Marriage Act is unconstitutional in restricting the rights of same-sex couples married in any of the states. The case is likely to be appealed.

Same sex marriage is not just about gay rights but about the rights of all men and women to built their life with a partner of their choice, regardless of gender.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: